Illinois Engineering names outstanding faculty


Mike Koon, Marketing and Communications Coordinator

The University of Illinois College of Engineering will be honoring educators and researchers at the 54th Annual College Faculty Awards Ceremony at 6 pm on Monday, April 23 at the National Center for Supercomputing Applications auditorium.

The following individuals will be honored at the event:

Dean's Award for Excellence in Research
These awards were established to honor faculty for outstanding research. Four assistant professors are chosen by their peers based on who has conducted the most outstanding research during the last academic year. In addition, four associate professors are chosen for their outstanding research over the past five academic years.

Gaurav Bahl, Mechanical Science and Engineering
David W. Flaherty, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Can Bayram, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Jeremy S. Guest, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Cecilia Leal, Materials Science and Engineering
Aditya G. Parameswaran, Computer Science
Brendan A. Harley, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Amy J. Wagoner Johnson, Mechanical Science and Engineering
Sayan Mitra, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Dipanjan Pan, Bioengineering
Dallas Trinkle, Materials Science and Engineering

Ross J. Martin Award
Given to a graduate student in the College of Engineering in recognition of outstanding research achievement.

Elham Mohimi, Materials Science and Engineering

Collins Award for Innovative Teaching
This award is given to a faculty member in recognition of outstanding development or use of new and  innovative teaching methods. 

Randy H. Ewoldt, Mechanical Science and Engineering

Everitt Award for Teaching Excellence
Recognizes a faculty member for outstanding undergraduate teaching. Faculty are nominated for this award because they stand out and are remembered with respect, affection, and admiration long after the students leave campus. 

Daniel J. Bodony, Aerospace Engineering

Rose Award for Teaching Excellence
Recognizes good teaching and is intended to foster and reward excellence in undergraduate teaching across the College of Engineering. The recipients of this award are teachers who excel at motivating undergraduate students to learn and to appreciate engineering. 

SungWoo Nam, Mechanical Science and Engineering
Ashlynn S. Stillwell, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Wen-mei Hwu, Electrical and Computer Engineering

College of Engineering Teaching Excellence Award
Timothy W. Bretl, Aerospace Engineering

Tau Beta Pi Daniel C. Drucker Eminent Faculty Award
Given to a faculty member who has received national or international acclaim for dedication to academic excellence through teaching and research,  and who has made exemplary contributions to the understanding of their field. 

Lui R. Sha, Computer Science

Engineering Council Outstanding Advisors
Represents the top 10 percent of engineering advisors selected by engineering students 

Aerospace Engineering
J. Craig Dutton
Grace Xingxin Gao
Laura Gerhold
Philippe Geubelle
Kai James
Marco Panesi
Brian Woodard

Maddie Darling
Marcia Pool

Computer Science
Stephen Herzog
Wade Fagen-Ulmschneider
Katrina James
Andreas Kloeckner
Mariana Silva
Heather Zike
Craig Zilles

Electrical and Computer Engineering
Rakesh Kumar

Materials Science and Engineering
Laura Nagel
Jessica TerBush

Mechanical Science and Engineering
Melissa Biehl
Geir Dullerud
Stephanie Ott-Monsivais
Sanjiv Sinha

Nuclear, Plasma, and Radiological Engineering
Becky Meline

Merissa Jones