skip to main content

Undergraduate Advising

Grainger Engineering is committed to providing quality advising at all levels. We offer college and departmental level advising to help you answer any questions that might come up and to help you overcome any challenges you face.

We regularly help students with course difficulty, registration and course planning, study skills, test anxiety, questioning your major, feeling comfortable and happy on campus. We also would love to talk to you about different resources on campus, your plan to graduate, and what you want in your future.

Walk-in advising hours are available Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 11:45a.m. and 1p.m. to 4:30 p.m in room 206 Engineering Hall. Departments also have their own undergraduate student advising offices. Summer hours for Walk-in Advising are 10 a.m. to 12 p.m. and 2 p.m. to 4 p.m. in room 206 Engineering Hall.

Go to Undergraduate Advising Wiki

Departmental Advising

Each department has an office for undergraduate student advising, and a departmental Chief Advisor. Departmental advisors can help you answer questions about departmental degree requirements, getting into that specific departmental courses, resolving academic difficulties, and transferring into or out of the department.

Department Advisor(s) Address Email

Aerospace Engineering

Laura Gerhold 

329 Talbot 
MC-236

gerhold@illinois.edu 

Agricultural & Biological Engineering

Anne Marie Boone 
Luis Rodriguez

360 Agricultural Eng. Sci. Bldg.  

MC-644 

aboone@illinois.edu 
lfr@illinois.edu

Bioengineering

Maddie Darling

1240 Everitt Lab

darling4@illinois.edu

Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering

Wolali Dedo
Kimberly Powers
Todd Spinner

114 Roger Adams 

wdedo@illinois.edu
powerska@illinois.edu
spinner@illinois.edu

Civil and Environmental Engineering

James LaFave 
Becky Stillwell
Greg Coughlin

1102 Newmark 
MC-250 

jlafave@illinois.edu 
rborden@illinois.edu
gcoughli@illinois.edu 

Computer Science 

Steve Herzog
Katrina James 
Elizabeth Gonzalez
Heather Zike

1210 Siebel 
MC-258 

smherzog@illinois.edu
krjames@illinois.edu
egon@illinois.edu
hlzike@illinois.edu

Electrical and Computer Engineering 

Joan Brown
Molly Helgesen 
Erhan Kudeki 
Chris Schmitz

2120 ECE Building
MC-702 

jbrown76@illinois.edu
mhelgese@illinois.edu
erhan@illinois.edu 
cdschmit@illinois.edu

Industrial & Enterprise Systems Engineering 

Richard Sowers
Heidi Craddock

104 Transportation Bldg. 
MC-238 

r-sowers@illinois.edu
hcraddoc@illinois.edu 

Materials Science & Engineering 

Laura Nagel 

201 Material Science Eng. Bldg. 
MC-246 

ljnagel@illinois.edu 

Mechanical Science & Engineering 

Missy Biehl 
Stephanie Ott-Monsivais 

152 Computer Applications Bldg.

mbiehl@illinois.edu
ottmonsi@illinois.edu

Nuclear, Plasma, Radiological Engineering

Becky Meline

219 Talbot Lab 
MC-236 

bmeline@illinois.edu 

Engineering Physics 

Merissa Jones 

290W Loomis Lab 
MC-704 

majones2@illinois.edu

Changing Majors

Ready to pursue a new interest? We’re here to help guide you and help you find the best fit.

Start Here

Professional Development

Our unique, specialized centers provide another resource to help make you the most prepared and innovative upon graduation.

Start Here