skip to main content

Research Experiences for Undergraduates (REU)

Illinois REUs

Incubating a New Community of Leaders Using Software, Inclusion, Innovation, Interdisciplinary and OpeN-Science (INCLUSION)

Work on interdisciplinary socially-impactful research projects that develop and use open source software. Contact: Olena Kindratenko: kindrat2@illinois.edu | 217-300-0247
Learn more →

Frontiers in Biomedical Imaging

Train and perform research at the forefront of biomedicine using advanced imaging and microscopy technologies. Contact: Prof. Marina Marjanovic: marinam@illinois.edu | 217-244-6221
Learn more →

The Center for Power Optimization of Electro-Thermal Systems (POETS)

Participate in research at the intersection of electrical, mechanical and material engineering to increase the power density of electrified cars, construction equipment, boats and airplanes. Contact: Joe Muskin: jmuskin@illinois.edu | 217-265-6481 or Dr. Jessica Perez: jgperez@illinois.edu | 217-300-5866
Learn more →

Physics at Illinois

Work on challenging, meaningful research projects in a wide variety of physics subfields.  Contact: Dr. Patrick Snyder: psnyder@illinois.edu | 217-300-9957 
Learn more →

Illinois Materials Research Science and Engineering Center (I-MRSEC)

Solve a challenging, meaningful scientific question by taking part in the interdisciplinary innovative materials research.  Contact: Dr. Pamela Pena Martin: pmartin9@illinois.edu | 217-300-6699
Learn more →

Illinois Space Grant Consortium – Undergraduate Research Opportunities Program (UROP)

Conduct research on NASA-related science and engineering topics.  Contact: Diane Jeffers: dejeffer@illinois.edu | 217-244-8048
Learn more →

Summer Undergraduate Research Experience in Toxicology (SURE Tox)

Train and perform research in the field of toxicology.  Contact: Prof. Jodi Flaws: jflaws@illinois.edu | 217-333-7933 or Prof. Romana Nowak: ranowak@illinois.edu | 217-244-3902
Learn more →

Carle Illinois College of Medicine REACH Program

Participate in an intensive clinical and research immersion summer experience in the field of medicine. Contact: Lisa Goodpaster: lisag18@illinois.edu | 217-300-7103
Learn more →

Summer Research Opportunities @ Illinois (SROP)

Work on a research project in various fields of study and learn more about graduate school. Contact: I-SROP@illinois.edu
Learn more →

Phenotypic Plasticity Research Experience for Community College Students (PRECS)

Designed to provide community college students with authentic research experiences in phenotypic plasticity, the phenomenon of a single genotype producing multiple phenotypes depending on the environment. Contact: Dr. C. Britt Carlson: ccarlson@parkland.edu | 217-353-2132
Learn more →

New Laws of Wave Propagation in Materials and Structures

Work on projects related to nanoscale materials, metamaterials or bio-inspired jumping robots. Contact: Joe Muskin: jmuskin@illinois.edu | 217-265-6481
Learn more →

National Science Foundation REU

The National Science Foundation (NSF) REU provides indirect funding for undergraduate students to participate in research. The NSF REU program sites may be based in a single discipline or academic department or may offer interdisciplinary or multi-departmental research opportunities with a coherent intellectual theme. An NSF REU site may be located in the United States or different country. Students participating in REUs are generally provided a stipend, housing, and transportation to and from the site.