skip to main content

Research Experiences for Undergraduates (REU)

Illinois REUs

Frontiers in Biomedical Imaging

Train and perform research at the forefront of biomedicine using advanced imaging and microscopy technologies. Contact: Prof. Marina Marjanovic: marinam@illinois.edu | 217-244-6221
Learn more →

Emergent Behaviors of Integrated Cellular Systems (EBICS)

Conduct research pertaining to cellular systems that may help to solve problems in health, security, and environment. Contact: EBICS Admin: ebics_admin@mit.edu
Learn more →

The Center for Power Optimization of Electro-Thermal Systems (POETS)

Work on research projects to help increase the power density of current mobile electrified systems by 10-100 times the current state of the art.  Contact: Joe Muskin: jmuskin@illinois.edu | 217-265-6481 or Dr. Jessica Perez: jgperez@illinois.edu | 217-300-5866
Learn more →

Physics at Illinois

Work on challenging, meaningful projects focused on the diversity of physics subfields.  Contact: Professor Karin Dahmen: dahmen@illinois.edu | 217-244-8873
Learn more →

Illinois Materials Research Science and Engineering Center (I-MRSEC)

Solve a challenging, meaningful scientific question by taking part in the interdisciplinary innovative materials research.  Contact: Dr. Pamela Pena Martin: pmartin9@illinois.edu | 217-300-6699
Learn more →

Illinois Space Grant Consortium – Undergraduate Research Opportunities Program (UROP)

Conduct research on NASA-related science and engineering topics.  Contact: Diane Jeffers: dejeffer@illinois.edu | 217-244-8048
Learn more →

Summer Undergraduate Research Experience in Toxicology (SURE Tox)

Train and perform research in the field of toxicology.  Contact: Prof. Jodi Flaws: jflaws@illinois.edu | 217-333-7933 or Prof. Romana Nowak: ranowak@illinois.edu | 217-244-3902
Learn more →

Carle Illinois College of Medicine REACH Program

Participate in an intensive clinical and research immersion summer experience in the field of medicine. Contact: Lisa Goodpaster: lisag18@illinois.edu | 217-300-7103
Learn more →

Summer Research Opportunities @ Illinois (SROP)

Work on a research project in various fields of study and learn more about graduate school. Contact: I-SROP@illinois.edu
Learn more →

Phenotypic Plasticity Research Experience for Community College Students (PRECS)

Designed to provide community college students with authentic research experiences in phenotypic plasticity, the phenomenon of a single genotype producing multiple phenotypes depending on the environment. Contact: Dr. C. Britt Carlson: ccarlson@parkland.edu | 217-353-2132
Learn more →

National Science Foundation REU

The National Science Foundation (NSF) REU provides indirect funding for undergraduate students to participate in research. The NSF REU program sites may be based in a single discipline or academic department or may offer interdisciplinary or multi-departmental research opportunities with a coherent intellectual theme. An NSF REU site may be located in the United States or different country. Students participating in REUs are generally provided a stipend, housing, and transportation to and from the site.

International Research Opportunities

The Grainger College of Engineering departments have partnerships with universities abroad to offer research opportunities for you.