Thomas M. Siebel

Thomas M. Siebel
Thomas M. Siebel

Technology entrepreneur, founder, chairman, and Chief Executive Officer of Siebel Systems, a global leader in application software and recognized as one of the world’s preeminent software companies.

Thomas Siebel is the chairman of First Virtual Group, a diversified holding company with interests in commercial real estate, agribusiness, global investment management, and philanthropy. Siebel is the founder and chairman of C3, an energy and emissions management company.

Siebel was the founder, chairman, and chief executive officer of Siebel Systems, one of the world’s leading software companies, which merged with Oracle Corporation in January 2006. founded in 1993, Siebel Systems rapidly became a global leader in application software. Before founding Siebel Systems, Siebel served as chief executive officer of Gain Technology. From 1984 through 1990 he was an executive at Oracle Corp., where he held a number of senior management positions. He is a frequent industry spokesman and is the author of three books: Taking Care of eBusiness, Cyber Rules, and Virtual Selling. Siebel is a graduate of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, where he received a Bachelor of Arts in History, a Master of Business Administration, and a Master of Science in Computer Science.

An active philanthropist, Siebel is the founder and chairman of the Siebel Scholars Foundation and the Meth Project Foundation, initiatives of the Siebel Foundation. The Siebel Foundation is active in the support of education, health, drug prevention, wildlife habitat preservation, conservation, and support for the homeless.

Siebel serves on the board of advisors of the Stanford University College of Engineering, the University of Illinois College of Engineering, and the University of California at Berkeley College of Engineering. He is a director of the University of Illinois Foundation and the Hoover Institution at Stanford University.


  • AB, History, 1975
  • MBA, 1983
  • MS, Computer Science, 1985
  • Honorary Degree, 2006