Nobel assist


Written by

News-Gazette (Oct. 7) -- Two teams of scientists who solved an important puzzle about the tiny "ghost" particles--neutrinos--received the Nobel Prize for Physics. The winners were Arthur McDonald of the Sudbury Neutrino Observatory Collaboration at Queen's University in Kingston, Canada, and Takaaki Kajita of the Super-Kamiokande Collaboration at the University of Tokyo. Their work has prompted physicists to revise their theories about nature and could lead to new understandings about the sun and the evolution of the universe, said Illinois physics professor Mark Neubauer, who worked with the Sudbury group as a graduate student at the University of Pennsylvania.

Share this story

This story was published October 7, 2015.