M. E. Van Valkenburg

To M. E. Van Valkenburg for his contributions to engineering education through extraordinary textbooks, inspiring teaching, innovative research, and outstanding leadership.

W.W. Grainger Professor and Dean Emeritus, College of Engineering, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

  • BS, University of Utah, 1943
  • MA, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 1946
  • PhD, Stanford University, 1952

Mac Van Valkenburg is one of the leading engineering educators of our time. His textbooks, which are used worldwide, have helped educate generations of engineers. In research, he has made major contributions to network synthesis, both through his own research and through his supervision of doctoral candidates, many of whom became leading figures in their own right. Through his selection of young faculty members in the area of circuits and systems, he was instrumental in building a world-caliber Department of Electrical Engineering at UIUC. Under his leadership as dean, the college began several major and important initiatives, including development of the North Campus master plan and the rigorous pursuit of engineering revitalization of the college at the campus administrative and state legislative levels. Funds were awarded for the addition to the Digital Computer Laboratory and the new Microelectronics Laboratory, and major remodeling was initiated for the first time in more than two decades. He continues to be very active in the American Society of Engineering Education and other national committees and panels involved in engineering education. He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering and a fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, the American Association for the Advancement of Science and the American Society for Engineering Education. Among his many awards are the ASEE Lamme Medal, ASEE George Westinghouse Award, IEEE Education Medal, IEEE Centennial Medal, Guillemin Prize, and the college’s Halliburton Engineering Education Leadership Award.

Current as of 1991.