Eric N. Brown


For his prestigious career at Los Alamos National Laboratory and countless hours of time as a MechSE alumni board member and member emeritus

Senior Scientist, Los Alamos National Laboratory

  • BS, Mechanical Engineering, The Grainger College of Engineering, 1998
  • MS, Theoretical & Applied Mechanics, The Grainger College of Engineering, 2001
  • PhD, Theoretical & Applied Mechanics, The Grainger College of Engineering, 2003

Dr. Eric N. Brown joined the Los Alamos National Laboratory as a Director’s Postdoctoral Fellow in 2003 and was subsequently elevated to a Technical Staff Member in the Materials Science and Technology Division at Los Alamos National Laboratory. He has served as the Technical Advisor for the Joint Department of Defense/Department of Energy Munitions Technology Program in the Office of the Under Secretary of Defense; lead the Neutron Science and Technology Group in the Los Alamos National Laboratory Physics Division; and served as the Division Leader for the Explosive Science and Shock Physics Division at Los Alamos National Laboratory, where he oversees the premier research program on energetic materials and dynamic material response in support of national security.  

Dr. Brown currently serves as a senior scientist in the Office of Experiment Science. His research has involved projects regarding fracture and damage of complex heterogeneous polymers and polymer composites for energetic, reactive, and structural applications including crystalline phase transitions, plasticity, dynamic loading conditions and self-healing materials. 

Eric has been active in the American Physical Society through the Shock Compression of Condensed Matter Topical Group, where he served in multiple leadership roles, including the organization of the topical group’s conference in 2017. He was named an APS Fellow in 2021, as well as a Fellow of the Society for Experimental Mechanics. Eric founded and served as the Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Dynamic Behavior of Materials. He has received awards for his technical achievements in physics and materials science from the ASC, DOE-NNSA, LANL, MRS, SEM, TMS and the University of Illinois.

Current as of February 2023