Three faculty and ten alumni elected to National Academy of Engineering

2/10/2022  3:00:00 PM

The National Academy of Engineering (NAE) has elected 111 new members and 22 international members to its elite membership. Included in this class are three current Grainger College of Engineering faculty members and ten alumni.

Election to the National Academy of Engineering is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer. Academy membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to engineering research, practice or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature, and to the pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education. 

Those elected from the college include: 


William Hammack

William S. Hammack
William H. and Janet G. Lycan Professor, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering. For innovations in multidisciplinary engineering education, outreach and service to the profession through development and communication of internet-delivered content.

Youssef M.A. Hashash

Youssef M.A. Hashash
William J. and Elaine F. Hall Endowed Professor and John Burkitt Webb Endowed Faculty Scholar, Civil and Environmental Engineering. For contributions to geotechnical engineering, seismic safety, and underground infrastructure evaluation, design and construction.

Klara Nahrstedt

Klara Nahrstedt
Grainger Distinguished Chair, computer Science. For contributions to managing quality of service in distributed multimedia systems and networks.


MiMi A. Aung
BS Electrical Engineering '88, MS '90
Senior manager, Project Kuiper, Kuiper Systems LLC, Bellevue, Wash. For the development of the NASA Mars Helicopter and the first flight on another planet.

Richard G. Baraniuk
PhD Electrical Engineering '92
C. Sidney Burrus Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Rice University, Houston. For the development and broad dissemination of open educational resources and for foundational contributions to compressive sensing.

Alan C. Bovik
BS Computer Engineering '80, MS Electrical Engineering '82, PhD '84
Cockrell Family Regents Endowed Chair in Engineering and professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Texas, Austin. For contributions to the development of tools for image and video quality assessment.

Bahman Hoveida
MS Electrical Engineering '80
President, Accurant International LLC, Bainbridge Island, Wash. For entrepreneurial leadership in developing advanced energy management system software for electric utility operations.

Freeman Hrabowski III
MA Mathematics '71, PhD Education '75
President, University of Maryland, Baltimore County. For development of a national educational model for students from diverse backgrounds to excel in engineering and science.

Petros Ioannou
MS Mechancial Engineering '80, PhD Electrical Engineering '83
A.V. "Bal" Balakrishnan Chair and professor, Viterbi School of Engineering, University of Southern California, Los Angeles. For contributions to robust adaptive control and intelligent transportation systems for improved traffic flow and driver safety.

Chao-Hsin Lin
PhD Mechanical Engineering '89
Technical fellow, Boeing Commercial Airplane, Boeing Co., Seattle. For the development of aerospace environmental control systems to ensure the safety and well-being of passengers and crew.

Herbert Allan Myers
BS Agricultural Engineering '70, MS '71
President and founder, Ag Leader Technology, Ames, Iowa. For inventing and bringing to market technology that is the foundation of precision agriculture.

Robert Madix
BS Chemical Engineering '61
Senior research fellow, John A. Paulson School of Engineering and Applied Science, Harvard University, Cambridge, Mass. For development of quantitative models for predicting catalytic selectivity through fundamental understanding of reaction mechanism and kinetics.

Julie Mae Schoenung
BS Ceramic Engineering '83
Department chair and professor, Materials Science and Engineering, University of California, Irvine. For innovative and interdisciplinary applications of materials engineering in trimodal composites, coatings, additive manufacturing and green engineering.

“I am incredibly proud of and honored to serve alongside these brilliant and talented individuals,” said Rashid Bashir, dean, The Grainger College of Engineering. “The passion they exude for their work and desire to provide for the greater good of humanity exemplifies exactly what it means to be a Grainger engineer and member of NAE."

Individuals in the newly elected class will be formally inducted during the NAE's annual meeting on Oct. 2, 2022.