skip to main content

Engineering News

Outstanding Faculty To Be Honored April 28 at NCSA

4/22/2014 Mike Koon, Engineering Communications Office

The University of Illinois College of Engineering will be honoring educators and researchers at the 50th Annual College Faculty Awards Ceremony on April 28 at the National Central For Supercomputing Applications (NCSA) auditorium. 

Dean’s Award for Excellence in Research

Five awards are given to assistant professors who have been judged by their colleagues to have conducted the best research during the last academic year.

Soon-Jo Chung, Aerospace Engineering
Derek Hoiem, Computer Science
Taylor Hughes, Physics
Negar Kiyavash, Industrial and Enterprise Systems Engineering
Shobha Vasudevan, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Four awards are given to associate professors who have been judged by their colleagues to have conducted the best research during the past five academic years.

Harrison Kim, Industrial and Enterprise Systems Engineering
Christopher Rao, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Grigore Rosu, Computer Science
Moonsub Shim, Materials Science and Engineering

Collins Award for Innovative Teaching

Given to a faculty member in recognition of outstanding development or use of new and innovative teaching methods
Wen-mei Hwu, Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Everitt Award for Teaching Excellence

Recognizes a faculty member for outstanding undergraduate teaching, a teacher who stands out and is remembered with respect, affection, and admiration long after students leave campus

Brendan A. Harley, Assistant ProfessorDepartment of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Rose Award for Teaching Excellence 
Recognizes good teaching and is intended to foster and reward excellence in undergraduate teaching across the College of Engineering. The recipients of this award are teachers who excel at motivating undergraduate students to learn and to appreciate engineering.

Cinda Heeren, Lecturer, Department of Computer Science
Sua Myong, Assistant Professor, Department of Bioengineering


College of Engineering Teaching Excellence Award

John Popovics, Associate Professor, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering


Tau Beta Pi Daniel C. Drucker Eminent Faculty Award

Given to a faculty member who has received national or international acclaim for dedication to academic excellence through teaching and research and who has made exemplary contributions to the understanding of his or her field.

Nancy Sottos, Donald B. Willett Professor of EngineeringDepartment of Materials Science and Engineering


Ross J. Martin Award

Given to a graduate student in the College of Engineering in recognition of outstanding research achievement

Manas Gartia, Department of Nuclear, Plasma, and Radiological Engineering


Engineering Council Outstanding Advisors

Represents the top 10% of engineering advisors selected by engineering students

Aerospace Engineering

Craig Dutton

Laura Ann Gerhold

Agricultural and Biological Engineering

R.S. Gates


Jennifer Amos

Kerri Green

Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Suzi Blanco

David Flaherty

Charles Schroeder

Todd Spinner

Civil and Environmental Engineering

Paolo Gardoni

Liang Liu

Scott Olson

Yanfeng Ouyang

Becky Stillwell

Computer Science

Matthew Caesar

Carl Gunter

Jiawei Han

Stephen Herzog

Laxmikant Kale

Karrie Karahalios

Darko Marinov

Dan Roth

Paris Smaragdis

Chengxiang Zhai

Electrical and Computer Engineering

Jose Schutt-Aine

Lynford Goddard

Rakesh Kumar

Robert Pilawa

Materials Science and Engineering

Steve Granick

Angus Rockett

John Rogers

Kenneth Schweizer

Matthew Sherburne

Mechanical Science and Engineering

Mariana Silva Sohn

Nuclear, Plasma and Radiological Engineering

Becky Meline