skip to main content

Engineering News

Winners announced for 2018 WYSE State Finals


 The Worldwide Youth in Science and Engineering (WYSE) Academic Challenge concluded its State Finals. Over 1,500 students from 191 schools across the state of Illinois descended on the I-Hotel for the annual event sponsored by the University of Illinois College of Engineering. Team champions were crowned in six divisions over four days. 

To reach the state finals, teams had to advanced past Regional and Sectional competition. 

Teams competed in 14-member varsity teams or as individual at-large competitors. Each student took two exams. There are seven subject areas from which each student chose their two tests -- biology, chemistry, computer science, engineering graphics, English, mathematics and physics. The materials for tests are drawn from senior high school and freshman level college curricula and are written by teams of college and university faculty. Each test production team produces three tests of increasing levels of difficulty for the regional, sectional and state finals.

Here are state results:

Complete Results

Individual and Team Award Photos

Unlimited Division

Unlimited Division Champion Naperville North
Unlimited Division Champion Naperville North
Team Results
1. Naperville North
2. Stevenson
3. New Trier
4. Naperville Central
5. Barrington



Individual Category Winners
Biology - David Liang, Stevenson; Amey Maley, Naperville North
Chemistry - Zach Chin, Stevenson; Allen Ding, Stevenson
Computer Science - Alice Chen, Fremd
Engineering Graphics -- Adam Myers, Hoffman Estates
English - Sophie Henry, Deerfield
Math - Benji Kan, Naperville North
Physics - Jason Xia, Naperville North

Division 1500

Division 1500 Champion Dunlap
Division 1500 Champion Dunlap
Team Results
1.  Dunlap
2. Mahomet Seymour
3. Fenwick
4. Carbondale
5. Richmond-Burton



Individual Category Winners
Biology - Jessica Berkman, Mahomet-Seymour; Thomas, Stanila, St. Viator
Chemistry - Ellyn Liu, Dunlap; Benjamin Tolley, Carbondale
Computer Science - Jackson Wilson, Bloomington
Engineering Graphics -- Ishan Murphy, Champaign Central
English -- Julia Evancho, Dunlap
Math - Maxwell Jong, Dunlap
Physics - Jaden Lucas, Carbondale

Division 700

Division 700 Boundaried Champion Carlinville
Division 700 Boundaried Champion Carlinville
Boundaried Team Results
1. Carlinville
2. Carterville
3. Maroa-Forsyth
4. Byron
5. Pleasant Plains



Unboundaried Team Results
1. University of Chicago Lab School
2. University High School
3. Wheaton Academy
4. Timothy Christian
5. Marmion

Individual Category Winners
Biology - Grayson Armour, Carlinville
Chemistry -- Katerina Gorou, Maroa-Forsyth
Computer Science - Andrew DeNeve, Carlinville
Engineering Graphics - Hayward Melton, University of Chicago Lab School
English - Clara Barclay, Macomb
Math - Roshni Padhi, University of Chicago Lab School
Physics - David Pan, University of Chicago Lab School

Division 300

Division 300 Boundaried Champion Gallatin County
Division 300 Boundaried Champion Gallatin County
Boundaried Team Results
1. Gallatin County
2. Athens
3. Pecatonica
4. Macon Meridian
5. River Ridge




Division 300 Unboundaried Champion Elgin Academy
Division 300 Unboundaried Champion Elgin Academy
Unboundaried Team Results
1. Elgin Academy
2. College Preparatory School of America 
3. Universal High School
4. St. Anthony (Effingham)
5. Keith Country Day School




Individual Category Winners
Biology Taryn Stdidinger, Princeville; Sarah Syed, College Preparatory School of America
Chemistry - Haolin, Liu, Elgin Academy; Mustafa Nawaz, Islamic Foundation School
Computer Science - Ben Simon, Elgin Academy
Engineering Graphics - Drew Warner, Cumberland
English - Sydney Stephens, Patoka
Math - Ian Copple, St. Anthony; Ethan Rozene, St. Anthony
Physics - Ian Copple, St. Anthony