skip to main content

Engineering at Illinois Names Outstanding Faculty Awardees

Engineering at Illinois Names Outstanding Faculty Awardees

4/20/2016 Mike Koon, Marketing & Communications Coordinator

The University of Illinois College of Engineering will be honoring educators and researchers at the 52nd Annual College Faculty Awards Ceremony on April 25 at the National Center For Supercomputing Applications (NCSA) auditorium. 

Dean’s Award for Excellence in Research
Five awards are given to assistant professors who have been judged by their colleagues to have conducted the best research during the last academic year.
Randy Ewoldt, Mechanical Science & Engineering
Mani Golparvar-Fard, Civil & Environmental Engineering
Marco Panesi, Aerospace Engineering
Robert Pilawa-Podgurski, Electrical & Computer Engineering
Paris Smaragdis, Electrial & Computer Engineering, Computer Science

Five awards are given to associate professors who have been judged by their colleagues to have conducted the best research during the past five academic years.
Daniel Bodony, Aerospace Engineering
Yann Chemla, Physics
John Dallesasse, Electrical & Computer Engineering
Hyun Joon Kong, Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering
Thanh H. Nguyen, Civil & Environmental Engineering

Collins Award for Innovative Teaching
Given to a faculty member in recognition of outstanding development or use of new and innovative teaching methods

Matthew West, Associate Professor, Mechanical Science & Engineering

Everitt Award for Teaching Excellence
Recognizes a faculty member for outstanding undergraduate teaching, a teacher who stands out and is remembered with respect, affection, and admiration long after students leave campus

Timothy Bretl, Associate Professor, Aerospace Engineering
Elif Ertekin, Mechanical Science & Engineering

Rose Award for Teaching Excellence 
Recognizes good teaching and is intended to foster and reward excellence in undergraduate teaching across the College of Engineering. The recipients of this award are teachers who excel at motivating undergraduate students to learn and to appreciate engineering.

Timothy Bretl, Associate Professor, Aerospace Engineering
P. Scott Carney, Professor, Electrical & Computer Engineering

College of Engineering Teaching Excellence Award

Stephen Downing
, Senior Lecturer, Adjunct Associate Professor, Mechanical Science & Engineering

Tau Beta Pi Daniel C. Drucker Eminent Faculty Award
Given to a faculty member who has received national or international acclaim for dedication to academic excellence through teaching and research and who has made exemplary contributions to the understanding of his or her field.\

Scott White, Professor, Aerospace Engineering

Ross J. Martin Award
Given to a graduate student in the College of Engineering in recognition of outstanding research achievement

Muhammed Naveed, Department of Computer Science

Engineering Council Outstanding Advisors
Represents the top 10% of engineering advisors selected by engineering students

Aerospace Engineering
Laura Gerhold

Civil and Environmental Engineering
Liang Liu

Computer Science
Brian Bailey

Electrical and Computer Engineering
Michael Bailey
Rakesh Kumar

Engineering Administration
Adva Waranyuwat

General Engineering
Chris Migotsky

Industrial and Enterprise Systems Engineering
James Allison
Heidi Craddock
James Davis
Justin Gary
T. Kesavadas
Girish Krishnan
Douglas King
Rakesh Nagi
Deborah Thurston
Qiong Wang

Mechanical Science and Engineering
Andrew Alleyne
Missy Biehl
Harry Dankowicz
Sascha Hilgenfeldt
Elizabeth Hsiao-Wecksler
Mariana Silva
Sameh Tawfick

Nuclear, Plasma and Radiological Engineering
Zahra Mohaghegh