Summer REU Program and Internship Opportunities

Have the experience of a lifetime

Experience research at Illinois by participating in one of our summer research experiences for undergraduates (REUs). This is a great way to explore campus, build research skills, meet faculty and current graduate students, learn about Grainger Engineering's graduate programs, and explore the community!

Frontiers in Biomedical Imaging

Train and perform research at the forefront of biomedicine using advanced imaging and microscopy technologies.
Contact Person: Prof. Marina Marjanovic (marinam@illinois.edu) (217-244-6221)

Emergent Behaviors of Integrated Cellular Systems (EBICS)

Conduct research pertaining to cellular systems that may help to solve problems in health, security, and environment
Contact: EBICS Admin(ebics_admin@mit.edu)

The Center for Power Optimization of Electro-Thermal Systems (POETS)

Work on research projects to help increase the power density of current mobile electrified systems by 10-100 times the current state of the art.
Contact Person: Joe Muskin (jmuskin@illinois.edu) (217-265-6481) or Dr. Jessica Perez (jgperez@illinois.edu) (217-300-5866)

Physics at Illinois

Work on challenging, meaningful projects focused on the diversity of physics subfields.
Contact Person: Professor Karin Dahmen (dahmen@illinois.edu) (217-244-8873)

Illinois Materials Research Science and Engineering Center (I-MRSEC)

Solve a challenging, meaningful scientific question by taking part in the interdisciplinary innovative materials research.
Contact Person: Dr. Pamela Pena Martin (pmartin9@illinois.edu) (217-300-6699)

Illinois Space Grant Consortium – Undergraduate Research Opportunities Program

Conduct research on NASA-related science and engineering topics.
Contact Person: Diane Jeffers (dejeffer@illinois.edu )(217-244-8048)

Incubating a New Community of Leaders Using Software, Inclusion, Innovation, Interdisciplinary and Open-Science (REU-INCLUSION)

Work on interdisciplinary socially-impactful research projects that develop and use open source software (OSS).
Contact Person: Dr. Daniel Katz (dskatz@illinois.edu) (217-244-8000) or Olena Kindratenko (kindrat2@illinois.edu. ) (217-300-0247)

Summer Undergraduate Research Experience in Toxicology (SURE Tox)

Train and perform research in the field of toxicology.
Contact Person: Prof. Jodi Flaws (jflaws@illinois.edu) (217-333-7933) or Prof. Romana Nowak (ranowak@illinois.edu) (217-244-3902)

Carle Illinois College of Medicine REACH

Participate in an intensive clinical and research immersion summer experience in the field of medicine.
Contact Person: Lisa Goodpaster (lisag18@illinois.edu )(217-300-7103)

Summer Research Opportunities @ Illinois (SROP)

Work on a research project in various fields of study and learn more about graduate school.
Contact Person: I-SROP@illinois.edu