skip to main content

Summer REU Program and Internship Opportunities

Get an early start on your research

Experience research at Illinois by participating in one of our summer research experiences for undergraduates (REUs). This is a great way to explore campus, build research skills, meet faculty and current graduate students, learn about Grainger Engineering's graduate programs, and explore the community!

Frontiers in Biomedical Imaging

Train and perform research at the forefront of biomedicine using advanced imaging and microscopy technologies.

Prof. Marina Marjanovic
marinam@illinois.edu - 217-244-6221

Emergent Behaviors of Integrated Cellular Systems (EBICS)

Conduct research pertaining to cellular systems that may help to solve problems in health, security, and environment

EBICS Admin
ebics_admin@mit.edu

The Center for Power Optimization of Electro-Thermal Systems (POETS)

Work on research projects to help increase the power density of current mobile electrified systems by 10-100 times the current state of the art.

Joe Muskin
jmuskin@illinois.edu - 217-265-6481
Dr. Jessica Perez
jgperez@illinois.edu - 217-300-5866

Phenotypic Plasticity Research Experience for Community College Students (PRECS)

Designed to provide community college students with authentic research experiences in phenotypic plasticity, the phenomenon of a single genotype producing multiple phenotypes depending on the environment.

Dr. C. Britt Carlson

ccarlson@parkland.edu - 217-353-2132

Physics at Illinois

Work on challenging, meaningful projects focused on the diversity of physics subfields.

Professor Karin Dahmen

dahmen@illinois.edu - 217-244-8873

Illinois Materials Research Science and Engineering Center (I-MRSEC)

Solve a challenging, meaningful scientific question by taking part in the interdisciplinary innovative materials research.

Dr. Pamela Pena Martin
pmartin9@illinois.edu - 217-300-6699

Illinois Space Grant Consortium – Undergraduate Research Opportunities Program

Conduct research on NASA-related science and engineering topics.

Diane Jeffers
dejeffer@illinois.edu - 217-244-8048

Summer Undergraduate Research Experience in Toxicology (SURE Tox)

Train and perform research in the field of toxicology.

Prof. Jodi Flaws
jflaws@illinois.edu - 217-333-7933
Prof. Romana Nowak
ranowak@illinois.edu - 217-244-3902

Carle Illinois College of Medicine REACH Program

Participate in an intensive clinical and research immersion summer experience in the field of medicine.

Lisa Goodpaster
lisag18@illinois.edu - 217-300-7103

Summer Research Opportunities @ Illinois (SROP)

Work on a research project in various fields of study and learn more about graduate school.

Illinois Summer Research Opportunities
I-SROP@illinois.edu