Department Contacts

Graduate Department Contacts

Each department has a director of graduate studies and a graduate coordinator who assists graduate students with questions on admissions, program requirements and general graduate student policies and procedures. The graduate coordinator is the main contact for graduate students and can help with a variety of needs, including assessing academic progress, registering for courses, thesis format check, exam scheduling, Graduate College petitions, transfer requests, I-20 extensions or changes, and both Curricular and Optional Practical Training Experiences (CPT & OPT).

Department Dir. of Grad Studies Graduate Coordinator Office

Aerospace
Engineering

Prof. John Lambros
lambros@illinois.edu

Jenna Russell
jennar@illinois.edu

306 Talbot Lab

Agricultural & Biological
Engineering

Prof. Xinlei Wang
xwang2@illinois.edu

Heather Crump
hcrump@illinois.edu

338 Agriculture Engineering Sciences Building

Bioengineering & Bioengineering MEng Program

Wawrzyniec Dobrucki 
dobrucki@illinois.edu

Liezl Bowman
liezlb@illinois.edu

1240G Everitt Laboratory

Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering

Prof. Mary Kraft
mlkraft@illinois.edu

Connie Knight
cknight4@illinois.edu

99 Roger Adams Laboratory

Civil & Environmental Engineering

Prof. Jeff Roesler
jroesler@illinois.edu

Joan Christian
(current students)
jchristn@illinois.edu
Mindy Calcagno
(prosp. students)
mindyc@illinois.edu
Meg Griffin
(Railway Engineering)
mgriffn@illinois.edu

1108 Newmark Civil Engineering Lab

Computer Science

Prof. Robin Kravets
rhk@illinois.edu

Viveka Kudaligama
kudaliga@illinois.edu
General Questions
Application questions (on-campus): academic@cs.illinois.edu
Application questions (online): mcs@cs.illinois.edu 

1210 Siebel Center

Electrical & Computer Engineering

Prof. Michael Oelze
oelze@illinois.edu

Jennifer Merry (MS/PhD)
merry@illinois.edu
Stacy Walker (MEng)
slwalker@illinois.edu
Kim Sgarbossa (MEng)
ksgarb17@illinois.edu

2092 ECE Building

Energy Systems
MEng Program

Prof. Rizwan Uddin
rizwan@illinois.edu

Amy McCullough
amccul2@illinois.edu

403-A2 Engineering Hall

Financial Engineering

Liming Feng
fenglm@illinois.edu

Lauren Redman
lredman@illinois.edu
General Questions
Application Questions

104A Transportation Building

Industrial &
Enterprise Systems Engineering

Prof. R.S. Sreenivas
rsree@illinois.edu

Lauren Redman
lredman@illinois.edu

104A Transportation Building

Materials Science & Engineering

Prof. Moonsub Shim
mshim@illinois.edu

Ashley S. Phillips Smith
aphilli5@illinois.edu

201 Materials Science & Engineering Building

Mechanical Science & Engineering

Prof. Petros Sofronis
sofronis@illinois.edu

Kathy Smith (current students)
smith15@illinois.edu
Joan Pyon (prosp. students)
pyon1@illinois.edu
Susan Roughton (prosp. students/MENG)
roughton@illinois.edu

164 Mechanical Engineering Building

Nuclear, Plasma, & Radiological Engineering

Prof. Yang Zhang
zhyang@illinois.edu

Kristie Stramaski
kstram20@illinois.edu

216 Talbot Lab

Physics

Prof. S. Lance Cooper
slcooper@illinois.edu

Prof. S. Lance Cooper
slcooper@illinois.edu

227 Loomis Laboratory