Department Contacts

Graduate Department Contacts

Each department has a director of graduate studies and a graduate coordinator who assists graduate students with questions on admissions, program requirements and general graduate student policies and procedures. The graduate coordinator is the main contact for graduate students and can help with a variety of needs, including assessing academic progress, registering for courses, thesis format check, exam scheduling, Graduate College petitions, transfer requests, I-20 extensions or changes, and both Curricular and Optional Practical Training Experiences (CPT & OPT).

Department Dir. of Grad Studies Graduate Coordinator Office

Aerospace
Engineering

Prof. Daniel Bodony
bodony@illinois.edu

Staci McDannel
tank@illinois.edu

306 Talbot Lab

Agricultural & Biological
Engineering

Prof. Xinlei Wang
xwang2@illinois.edu

Heather Crump
hcrump@illinois.edu

338 Agriculture Engineering Sciences Building

Bioengineering

Prof. Dipanjan Pan
jirudaya@illinois.edu

Krista Smith
kristasm@illinois.edu

1270 Digital Computer Lab

Bioengineering MEng Program

Prof. Dipanjan Pan
dipanjan@illinois.edu

Liezl Bowman 
liezlb@illinois.edu

1270 Digital Computer Lab

Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering

Prof. Mary Kraft
mlkraft@illinois.edu

Cynthia Dodds
dodds@illinois.edu

209 Roger Adams Laboratory

Civil & Environmental Engineering

Prof. Jeff Roesler
jroesler@illinois.edu

Joan Christian
(current students)
jchristn@illinois.edu
Mindy Calcagno
(prosp. students)
mindyc@illinois.edu

1108 Newmark Civil Engineering Lab

Computer Science

Prof. Brian Bailey
bpbailey@illinois.edu

Viveka Kudaligama
kudaliga@illinois.edu
General Questions
Application Questions

1210 Siebel Center

Electrical & Computer Engineering

Prof. Michael Oelze
oelze@illinois.edu

Jennifer Merry (MS/PhD)
merry@illinois.edu
Stacy Walker (MENG)
slwalker@illinois.edu

2092 ECE Building

Energy Systems
MEng Program

Prof. Rizwan Uddin
rizwan@illinois.edu

Amy McCullough
amccul2@illinois.edu

403-A2 Engineering Hall

Financial Engineering

Morton Lane
mnlane@illinois.edu

Rhonda McElroy
rmcelroy@illinois.edu
General Questions
Application Questions

3253 Digital Computer Lab

Industrial &
Enterprise Systems Engineering

Prof. R.S. Sreenivas
rsree@illinois.edu

Aleta Lynch
crook2@illinois.edu

104 Transportation Building

Materials Science & Engineering

Prof. Moonsub Shim
mshim@illinois.edu

Ashley S. Phillips Smith
aphilli5@illinois.edu

201 Materials Science & Engineering Building

Mechanical Science & Engineering

Prof. Taher Saif
saif@illinois.edu

Kathy Smith (current students)
smith15@illinois.edu
Amy Cates (prosp. students)
acate2@illinois.edu
Susan Roughton (prosp. students/MENG)
roughton@illinois.edu

164 Mechanical Engineering Building

Nuclear, Plasma, & Radiological Engineering

Prof. JP Allain
allain@illinois.edu

Becky Meline
bmeline@illinois.edu

216 Talbot Lab

Physics

Prof. S. Lance Cooper
slcooper@illinois.edu

Wendy Wimmer
wwimmer@illinois.edu

227 Loomis Laboratory