skip to main content


A Message from Dean Rashid Bashir

I am honored, humbled, and thrilled to join you as dean of the best college in the world. I could not be any more excited about where we are and about the future. Anything is possible at the University of Illinois and The Grainger College of Engineering. We are all citizens of the land of Bardeen and Holonyak, of ILLIAC and Mosaic, and of PayPal and YouTube. University of Illinois engineering graduates, staff, and faculty have changed the world, and I know that together we will continue to do that in very profound ways.

Our vision is to continue to be a Top 5 college of engineering in the U.S. and the world. We have changed the world in the past and will continue to do so in the future. We will be a place that is highly impactful, diverse, innovative, and collaborative and a place that creates the most imaginative technologies, creates new economies, and envisions new engineering education paradigms. Phrases such as to be the first, to create the future, and to do the impossible should be ones that we live by.

I am reminded of one of my favorite quotes: “Watch your thoughts, for they will become actions. Watch your actions, for they'll become habits. Watch your habits for they will forge your character. Watch your character, for it will make your destiny.”

Our thoughts and actions moving forward will define our future and destiny and also that of the world at large.

Dean Rashid Bashir

Dean Bashir joined the Illinois faculty as a professor of electrical and computer engineering in 2007. His research interests include bio-nanotechnology, the interfacing of biology and engineering from the molecular to the tissue scale, and applications of semiconductor fabrication to biomedical engineering, all applied to solving biomedical problems. He holds the Grainger Distinguished Chair in Engineering.

View Dean Bashir's Faculty Profile

Dean's Cabinet

James William Bell
Executive Director for Marketing and Communications
Harry Dankowicz
Associate Dean for Graduate, Professional and Online Programs
Michael J. Devocelle
Associate Dean for Finance and Administration
Philippe H. Geubelle
Executive Associate Dean
Harley T. Johnson
Associate Dean for Research
Jonathan J. Makela
Associate Dean, Undergraduate Programs
Andrew Singer
Associate Dean for Innovation
Dale Wright
Associate Dean for Advancement

Meet our Board of Visitors

View Profiles

Dean's Office Staff

Jean Hanks
Assistant to the Executive Associate Dean
Linda S. Morris
Administrative Aide
Tammy S. Nohren
Administrative Assistant to the Dean
Jonathan J. Trice
Office Support Specialist

Department Heads

Nancy M. Amato
Computer Science
Mark A. Anastasio
Pascal Bellon
Materials Science and Engineering
Gregory S. Elliott
Aerospace Engineering
Matthias Grosse Perdekamp
Bruce Hajek
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Tony Jacobi
Mechanical Science and Engineering
Paul J. A. Kenis
Chemical and Biological Engineering
Ronaldo G. Maghirang
Agricultural and Biological Engineering
Benito J. Mariñas
Civil and Environmental Engineering
Rakesh Nagi
Industrial and Enterprise Systems Engineering
Rizwan Uddin
Nuclear, Plasma, and Radiological Engineering

Center Directors

Imad L. Al-Qadi
Director, Illinois Center for Transporation
Jennifer Bernhard
Director, Applied Research Institute
Paul V. Braun
Director, Materials Research Laboratory
Brian T. Cunningham
Director, Holonyak Micro & Nanotechnology Lab
T. Kesavadas
Director, Health Care Engineering Systems Center
Paul G. Kwiat
Director, Illinois Quantum Information Science and Technology Center
John Lambros
Director, Advanced Materials Testing and Evaluation Laboratory
Klara Nahrstedt
Director, Coordinated Science Laboratory
David M. Nicol
Director, Information Trust Institute
Rachel D. Switzky
Director, Siebel Center for Design
Jed L. Taylor
Executive Director, Technology Entrepreneur Center

Contact Us

Office of the Dean

Undergraduate programs/Student Inquiries

Graduate and Professional Programs

Corporate and Research Partners

Advancement and Alumni

Office of Safety